Thursday, July 1, 2010

East African Free Trade Zone Begins Today

Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda will begin removing all (political) barriers to trade, to be complete in 2015. Gallup reports that citizens are in favor of allowing free movement of people as well, by a wide margin in most countries (87-91% in Burundi, Rwanda, and Uganda; 65% Kenya, 57% Tanzania).

BBC (Hat tip: Poverty News Blog) reports: "The hope is that member states will adopt a common currency by 2012, allowing them to move towards a political federation."

No comments:

Post a Comment